City Council

Wetaskiwin city council is the legislative body that represents the citizens of Wetaskiwin. The mayor and six councillors provide leadership and establish policies and priorities for Wetaskiwin’s municipal government. Members of council are responsible for the overall direction of the municipality through their role as policy-makers. Policies set by city council are guidelines for administration to follow as it handles the daily operations of the municipality. They also establish the budget for civic operations and capital expenditures.

Wetaskiwin residents vote for their mayor and councillors in a general election held every four years. The current council was elected in October 2021.

Council's Mission & Vision:

Mission: The City of Wetaskiwin fosters strong relationships, community pride, and opportunities for citizens.
Vision: Wetaskiwin is a secure, connected, and inclusive community.

To learn more about each member of council, including how to contact them, visit the Mayor & Council page.
For more information about council's goals, read the Council Strategic Plan 2022-2032

20231211 - Council - Group 01 WEB

Back row: Councillor Joe Branco, Councillor Bill Elliot, Councillor Wayne Neilson, Councillor Dean Billingsley.
Front row: Councillor Gabrielle Blatz, Mayor Tyler Gandam, Councillor Karen Aberle.